Just What I Needed!

Yesterday, it was my sincere honor and privilege to baptize a dear friend into Christ.  She had been visiting with us for several months and participates in a Wednesday Night Bible Study that I conduct.  Over the past three months, I have gotten to know and care for her.

Yesterday, she made the glorious decision to be baptized into Christ for the forgiveness of her sin.  There is no better decision that she could have made.

About a week before, another dear lady was baptized into Christ by another brother.  As I congratulated her, she told me that one of my recent sermons had been on her heart and helped her make her decision.

Both of these ladies made exactly the decision they needed to make.  They did exactly what they needed.

But, what they may not know is that their decision is exactly what I needed also.

First, I don’t want to take anything away from them or their decision by what I write below.  But, I hope through this post, I can encourage those who are striving to teach others the gospel.

Anyone who works to bring others to Christ knows that there are peaks and valleys in your endeavors.  You know that sometimes you wonder if your work is worth it.  It isn’t that you think about quitting…you press on, but you wonder if you are making headway with anyone or just standing still.  It is natural to critique yourself and feel inadequate in delivering a message as import as God’s will.  You intensely consider the words of Matthew 5:19:

Whoever then annuls one of the least of these commandments, and teaches others to do the same, shall be called least in the kingdom of heaven; but whoever keeps and teaches them, he shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven.

You also think about James 3:1

Let not many of you become teachers, my brethren, knowing that as such we will incur a stricter judgment.

You wonder if you are one who shouldn’t be a teacher.

You feel down about your work.

Then someone comes to God, weeping and tender-hearted, and you realize that God, in his infinite wisdom, blesses not only the person who obeys, but also those who witness that obedience and the teachers, friends, and family members who have helped that person to find Christ.

And, it’s just like a booster shot only without the sting.  You are immediately back on the peak!  Is it any wonder that the Bible says:

“In the same way, I tell you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” – Luke 15:10

So, for those who work to teach the Word, don’t give up.  It’s worth it!  Every time you struggle to answer a question, it’s worth it!  Every prayer you pray is worth it!  Every valley is worth just one peak!  One soul is worth the entire world and all that is in it!  And your endeavors have helped win that worth to God instead of Satan.

So, continue to work.  Thank God and live for those moments when your work is productive.  But, also remember that it is only God that gives the growth.

I planted, Apollos watered, but God was causing the growth. – 1 Corinthians 3:6

Those moments are precious and powerful.  Thank you, ladies, for giving me just what I needed.

“Let my teaching drop as the rain,
My speech distill as the dew,
As the droplets on the fresh grass
And as the showers on the herb.”
Deuteronomy 32:2

 

Leave a Reply

